my professional life has revolved around the question "how to teach college material to the barely literate?"
I have a lot of anger and sadness right now. I'm not just being paranoid; this really is how they thought of me. I have an incredible amount of self-hatred and self-consciousness because of the greatly-flawed rural public school system I was a part of and the seven and a half years it took me to graduate from college. I also have to apologize for these things to my professors?
I have to do something about this. I really need to figure out how to bridge this gap. How do you teach the professors to view their students as human beings with gifts? As individuals? As normal people? As equals?
Even if you're teaching Intro Class 101 to kids that don't know jack about college or maybe don't want to be there.......care enough to change things! Change lives! Surely this teaching business can't all be about your precious doctorate! Stop feeling like education, literacy, or the tools/drive to succeed in higher ed are just these magic things that people over the age of 18 automatically have; they're not! Education is a privilege!
I want these people to relate to me so bad.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment